Happy New Year!

Let's hope 2021 is less bonkers.

The New Year walk took us past a large flock of Canada geese on the playing fields of Dulwich College, then to the squirrel feeding area of Dulwich Park where I gladly gave out monkey nuts to the quite rotund rodents. Our destination, as it often is, was Tool Station for click and collect bits and pieces. Nearing the shop, I spied a blue plaque that I hadn't spotted before. It was an unofficial plaque to Bon Scott, the lead singer of ACDC, who died in a car near the spot in 1980. While Fred was collecting the whatever from Tool Station, I looked up Bon Scott's death – alcohol poisoning at only 33 years old. He was left to sleep in the car when his friend couldn't shift him. That's not a good way to go. 

Later in the day, Juno and I watched CritterVision – since Fred introduced this South Carolina backyard webcam to me yesterday, I've been keeping it rolling in the background while I'm doing other things. It's like having a window to another country's creatures. Often, there's not much going on and then loads of squirrels appear. There are some beautiful birds, too. I like to scroll back to the night hours to see the raccoons, deer, opossum and cats. Juno is particularly intrigued by squirrels that race from the bottom of the screen to the side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.