2.1.21

Today is my birthday. When I'm asked to give my date of birth, usually to confirm identity, I trot out 2, 1, 53. Any child born today will be able to say 2,1, 21. Of course that also applies to anyone who is 100 today.

I woke up to snow, hadn't expected that, but very blue skies and sun. Knowing that there wouldn't be much opportunity to get out later I headed out early for a walk. It was cold! If planned to do the Braid Hills loop but it was so treacherous walking across the Park, snow on top of hidden ice, that I played safe and went along Braid Hills Rd. Again the golf courses were busy with families sledging. There seemed to be some issue up the estate road though: ambulance, followed by ambulance response unit and even later an emergency helicopter, though that could have been unconnected.  Once home the helicopter flew over the house heading towards Little France.  

I cleared the snow off the pavement and then the family Zoom - all 3 sons, the girls, WH, J & D and the Ryton family. Strangely #1 gf was not in shot. I opened my presents on screen. 

Later in the afternoon #3 son and H arrived in person with more presents and a birthday cake, home baked by #3 son. He isn't good at dates of births though and counted wrong. Turns out members of my family think I am either 67, 60 or 19. I'll take 19! They were also my first foot, probably my only foot for weeks. Before they left they put up my new picture, the one that needs 2 people. 

Yesterday evening I decided to have a long bath to relax and calm me. Probably the 3rd one I've had in the 8 years in this house. It was so enjoyable, candles and a G & T, that after they left I had another soak (candles but no G & T) before the birthday party Zoom. The candles were lit again and Happy Birthday reprised. We talked longer than I anticipated so it was well after 8 before I was able to eat my steak. Recorded 'Engrenages' and watched mindless TV instead, before bed.

F2F - 3
Phone calls - 1
Virtual - 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.