Antecedents

The whole world was still reeling from the sights from the Capitol in the US capital that we were horrified by last night.  The result has been finally registered and there will be a new President, with hopefully a peaceful transition.

Meanwhile here in SI, I'm getting well into manana mode.  Today turned into a mending kind of day.  Some clothes mending, the Araldite arrived so I mended the table, filled up the bird/squirrel feeders, printed out Amelia's scan photo for the frame (only 4 years late!).  I was going to do lots today, a walk being one of them, but somehow I just didn't manage. My excuse, it was cold and kept looking like it was going to snow. It didn't.  I did manage to make the appointment for my Covid test - 17 January. E came by to say 'hi' bit we kept our distance.  My huge delivery arrived so I spent some time putting the maps and picture in the frames. 

This map is East London in 1819 and my 2 x gt grandmother, Emma Rearden, was born there in 1828, on Church Lane that became Back Church Lane after part of it became part of Commercial Road, in the map in the extra. I spent years walking these streets when I was going to Crisis HQ in Commercial Street with no knowledge that I was walking in her footsteps.  She married in Edinburgh in 1850 because her aunt, Eleanor Rearden, has become the second wife of her father-in -law.  But why Eleanor came to Edinburgh is a mystery.  Emma had her first two children in Melbourne during the Victorian Gold Rush and was buried in St Mark's in Portobello on Christmas Day 1900. 

One bright spot today was that Willow's lost collar #2 turned up, left on the front wall.  Bit muddy but otherwise intact.

Tomorrow I must do more.  I have things I need to do!

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 2
Virtual - 0
SI day 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.