An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Photography Challenge Day 6...

Earth


I woke up half an hour before my alarm was due to go off and as I felt wide awake, decided to get up.  This meant I was in the pool earlier than usual so I sneaked in a little extra relaxation at the end.

When I got in the pool it was pitch dark outside and I had the pleasure of watching the sky lighten from inky black through all shades of blue till the sun was up and making the snow on the grass sparkle.  A very special experience.

I had such plans for today's photography challenge subject and my blip shot isn't it!

I had hoped to get a macro shot of a patch of soil with some snow and ice crystals around the edge with the macro lens revealing all sorts of magical things.  Unfortunately the patch of soil I had planned to photograph proved too risky for me to get too without possibly landing myself a trip to A & E and ending up plastered...and not in a good way.

In the end I had to settle for the soil in one of our tubs in the side garden but it's a very low tub and the decking was very icy so I had to hold onto garden table with one hand, which meant I couldn't manually focus the lens and well, it was all a bit of a disaster really.

I quickly gave up as apart from being frozen and the fear of falling, every time I bent down my nose ran!  Oh well, win some, lose some.  

J&F, a lovely restaurant in our wee town are still doing Dine at Home on the Weekend so we shared a goat's cheese filo pasty tart starter, followed by the most delicious fish pie and veg (full portion each :-) before sharing dessert...bread and butter pudding with custard.  Absolutely delicious.

Oh and Nikki sent me a photo of a little girl wearing a crocheted Valentine headband (red with a red and white love heart) and a subtle hint saying "I think Esme would love this."   Oh heck, it might be a bit beyond my beginner level crochet skills but I have ordered the wool (just two balls) and will give it a go.  Nothing ventured and all that :-)) 

She sent me a photo of Esme (see my extra) and it made me stop in my tracks.  She is getting so big!  It made me sad to realise how much of her development we have missed out on during this pandemic, and still months to go!  My camera is going to be very busy once we are able to be together again!  

And in other news Trump has said he won't attend Biden's inauguration.  What a petty, immature and pathetic excuse for a man he is.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.