Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Help!

We had another night with sub zero temperatures and all the snow had frozen into hard lumps.

This morning I worked on the introduction to the book we are producing in our photo workshop online. We meet again tomorrow to try to finalise the images to be included. 

Once the job was done, I was able to have a quick lunch and then go for a walk. Hector, HaltyBear Mark II, asked to come, although he is still waiting for me to provide him with more clothes. He rode in the top of my camera back pack and could see the world.

I promised to make him a snow man, but it was not possible, because the snow was so frozen. When I turned my back, he had shinned up the post box. I shouted for him to come down, he missed his footing and ended up like this. If I had not grabbed him, he would have been freezing in there until Monday. Phew!

He came to me already with a name, but HaltyBear Mark I is also Hector. I'd like your help. Should he be a second boy - our walkers are a good mix of men and women - or should "he" be a girl? Should I give him a name that works either way? He could be Hilary or Rowan or even Baillie (he would have to have my spelling). Perhaps "he" should be Hettie or Hilda, and female. I have a dilemma on my hands. 

In the meantime I need to find wool for a hat! He hid in my backpack for the return journey and I had to watch my feet because of all the black ice.

I met Liz and Nick at the beginning of my walk, various friendly dogs and walkers during it and Sarah Fae (of Ghost fame) as I came home.

Then there was a webinar organised by the RPS with Nat Coalson talking about abstract images. He is a good speaker. 550+ people were listening. Some things about the pandemic have been very good and this is one of them.

Otherwise, the news remains very worrying and we are doing our best to stay safe here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.