Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The farrier

The forecasters were correct and today was a glorious day. It was cold but the sun shone and the sky was blue.

I left earlier than usual to do a slightly longer walk. I walked from Acomb up onto the fell and came around by Codlaw riding stables and the Dene. I was surprised to find so much black ice on the roads. Yesterday was mild, but the temperatures had plummeted overnight.

I proceeded with care and enjoyed a short detour into a wood. See extra.

I met various people I knew so there were cheerful chats to punctuate the walk. It's easy to keep a good distance apart on country roads.

Just before the stables, I met Peter and Jennifer Goff. We had a natter until they mentioned that the farrier was working at the stables. I was off like a shot and arrived just in time to see him shoe the last horse.

This horse was not only patient, but ready to give him the next hoof!

Further around the route, I encountered a tractor with hedge cutting equipment taking up the width of the lane. In my attempt to climb onto the high verge, my foot slipped and I fell. This is Arth's first fall and he did not like it! I promised an icepack on our return home and that seems to have done the trick.

Tonight we enjoyed this week's Only Connect and University Challenge. Both good contests with a friendly atmosphere. 

Julie and I had an hour on FaceTime and set the world to rights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.