An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Ice leaf...

I need you all to cross your fingers please.

Alan had a slight increase in temperature on Wednesday, which isn't unusual for him as he tends to be on to warm side of normal, but by yesterday afternoon it  was slightly higher again so paracetamol was administered.  This brought his temp down and he was his usual cheery self.

By bedtime it had increased again so he had another dose of paracetamol, which again reduced it back to normal levels.  He slept well but at 5am he needed another dose of paracetamol so we decided to contact the health centre when it opened at 8am to seek advice.

Of course due to Covid, GPs aren't making house calls and so after a telephone discussion with the GP,  it was agreed that since Alan's symptoms are those he usually displays when he has a chest infection, the GP would issue a prescription for an antibiotic.  But of course a high temp is also a symptom of covid and since it is impossible to perform a covid test on Alan, we are having to also assume it may be covid and follow the rules as such.  Full PPE and self isolation for 10 days. Not that the self isolation will affect us much.  Alan and I haven't been over the door for months and David's only been going out to walk Lola!

Thankfully we have great friends locally.  R will walk Lola twice a day and if he can't thenT&V will take her out with Milly.  They will also run any shopping errands we need.  Good to know we can get stuff from the Pharmacy if need be.  They've also just dropped off our Dine at Home meal.  We have a system where they leave the goods on the doorstep and ring us from the pavement to let us know they've delivered.

Alan's now had his first dose of antibiotic and another dose of paracetamol and is laughing happily whilst watching a film.  I never thought I would see the day where I was hoping Alan had a chest infection!  At this stage I am refusing to let my brain think it is anything else as it doesn't bear thinking about!

To take my mind of it all I made oat, cranberry and orange scones (in extras)  I am eating my feelings again but the scones are rather good!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.