Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The floods

We are very lucky in most of our village, because houses are not flooded. It was bitterly cold when I went out for a walk after lunch and I saw that the children's playground was well under water.

I used the Spectre app in my phone to take a 5 second exposure here. I liked the reflections of the clouds in the water.  

Down at the river, the beautiful blue sky and white clouds were nowhere to be seen in the water, which was dark grey and thundering downstream. The water levels have receded a little tonight.

It's been a busy day. I attended a Zoom meeting of the Northern Documentary Group of the RPS. During it, Margret phoned to say she had knocked her left leg and gashed it. I nipped out of the meeting and went next door to apply Steristrips to the triangular flap. Margret and Mum sometimes compete with each other when it comes to this sort of injury. Mum has two under treatment at the moment.

I was back in the meeting in time to show some of my Covid documentary shots. We had an interesting discussion about metaphorical images versus documentary images, or are they the same??

After my walk, I watched a photo talk from Wex Photographic. Then I cooked a chicken.

Tonight we had tickets for the Old Vic production of Brian Friel's Faith Healer. I see this is quite an old play but I had not heard of it. We had to watch it "live" because no recorded version was available. It was 2 and a half hours long with no interval!! Since we payed a fee, I would have liked the option to view it at a different time.

Brilliant performances, especially from Michael Sheen. It's a play that has you hanging on every word as you try to work out what actually happened. Friel leaves the audience still wondering at the end.........

So we are going to be very late to bed. Worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.