Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An exhilarating walk

It was sunny and bright from quite early this morning. 

I set out for my walk at about 1145. Halty Bear decided to come with me, sporting the new poncho. Neither of us realised how cold it would be on Hadrian's Wall Trail.

Our route took us from Limestone Corner, near Brocolitia, due west and into the teeth of the wind. I had a hat, but had chosen not to take my warmest one because of the sun. Fortunately my Paramo jacket is windproof and I was not too cold.

I did a circuit including Teppermoor Farm, then downhill past Tom's wall (now complete) and east to Sharpley riding stables. There is a long hill to climb up the farm road. It was covered in black ice, so progress was slower than I expected. Most of the route was on fields, with frozen snow and icy mud to negotiate.

HaltyBear stayed in the backpack for most of the walk, but when I came to the trig point on Teppermoor Hill, I could tell that she wanted to get out to see the wonderful view. You could see the Cheviot and the hills nearby in the far distance in the north. 

I think the poncho did its job well, but I now need to fashion a balaclava for these very cold days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.