Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Gerberas

Kate brought me these for my birthday. Apart from one appearing in with other flowers, I have not had a bunch that were all gerberas before.

In 1982 my friend Maddy and I went to Holland. We visited the bulb fields, the Keukenhof gardens and Floriade. The latter is a floral exhibition that occurs every 10 years.

We were given a gerbera each as we left. They looked a bit incongruous and droopy in our bags. On the bus (tram or tube?) a lady chatted to us, told us how to care for the flowers and presented us with a bunch of tulips she just happened to have in her bag. It was a very happy encounter and a happy holiday, so many years ago.

I have been intending to photograph the flowers while they are fresh and today was the day. I have been at home and managed to do quite a bit of tidying and sorting this morning.

Mum had a nose bleed and Margret came to see us all at the same time. Roll on the ENT appointment later this week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.