Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Amaryllis growing

Justbe and I are keen on growing amaryllis bulbs. 

Although I have photographed some already this year, I wanted to make a group today. The pot of the white one is standing on the floor and the stem measures 34inches. The red one is standing on a table and the stem measures 14 inches (that doesn't stop it from having the largest flowers). The bud is on top of a 30 inch stem.

Around our windowsills are plants in various stages. Some have already flowered twice and some are yet to break into leaf. It's all good fun.

I have had a very quiet day at home today. The garden birds have been massing to feed. I counted 10 blackbirds together when I put out the afternoon suet. There is a lot of bickering goes on, instead of just eating!!

It's been a cold, grey day. Best to be inside.

The shot was set up with the plants standing in front of a pale green sheet. I used two images to make sure that the plant at the back was in focus. In Photoshop I added a texture I made a few years ago from a tray of paint that had gone solid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.