carliewired

By carliewired

Clear and Cold

Ice flowing in the 
river with sunshine and clear
blue sky - I'll take it!

~ carliewired

I left for the office at 9:30 this morning. It was grey, overcast and -7 C. Our days have been starting like that. Not at all encouraging for photographers. 

By noon, the sun was shining and it had warmed to -4 C. I really don't mind the cold. It's the dark, depressing clouds I can do without. 

I made a detour on the way home to drop something off in a friend's mailbox. I stopped short of her house so I could walk up on the dyke to have a look at my favourite mountains and the North Thompson River. I happened to time it right to catch a Canadian National Railway train crossing the old railway bridge. This is the oldest original bridge in Kamloops.(1913) There was a lift span but it was deactivated in 1937 and converted to a fixed structure. The towers remain as a reminder of its original design. Three engines are pulling at the front, so this is either a long train or it's got a heavy load. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.