Morning Fog

With a chill over
night, fog settled in to frost
our winter landscape

~ carliewired

I was out on the deck at 7:30 to catch the colours before sunrise. It was -8 C and the weatherman was warning of 'freezing fog'. I decided to wait on my exit from the house. I didn't want any complications on the roads.

I was on my way to Tranquille just before 10 AM. The fog was beginning to lift off the rivers. It had already sugar-frosted the vegetation. The air had warmed to -5 C making a mist over the valleys. 

I stopped to get a shot of Tranquille over the wetlands. No waterfowl in evidence there today. I turned around at Tranquille Farms to get a shot across the wetlands and to my mountains. I noted the ranch was busy feeding stock. The cattle were all lined up to feed.There was a hint of blue along the horizon so the day should improve as it warms. 

I headed for home but noticed a small flock of chukars between the road and the railway tracks. They were quickly scrambling up the rocky ledge but I managed to pull over and get a shot of the last of them disappearing into the grasslands. 

I picked up my late breakfast and made for home. I will need to visit the quilt store today as I have a birthday parcel to mail on Monday. I want something quilty to add to my friend's gift. 

We're hoping for a high of 0 C today and a mix of sun and cloud. More fog is expected overnight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.