Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Catkins

It's been a funny old day.

I was talking to friends on my mobile when a call came on the landline. It was Jani, the physio, asking if I was OK. Yes, I was supposed to be in an appointment with her. I jumped in the car and drove immediately, but carefully on the icy roads to her rooms.

We still had half and hour in which time she sorted my back and knee. The latter has been stiffening up and it is clear that I will need to continue active massaging even when the symptoms are abating. 

Home for lunch. Then I dragged myself out for a walk in Crow Wood. The sun came out and it was a delight. I often nearly don't go out, but I'm always glad when I do.

By the river North Tyne - very full and with white caps - I saw loads of catkins. I've tried for a fairly high key approach with the catkins blowing in the wind against a pale sky.

I met Mary W walking her dog and had a catch up.

Home and an ice pack and lie down to comfort my knee !

Tonight it was Tynedale Photo Group and an excellent show of images from Namibia by Carol and Leo. I have not been there, but on my second trip to Botswana I visited Ghanzi, on the border with Namibia. I thought it was like an old wild west town back in 1984. I wonder what it is like now?

During that trip, I helped with a clinic in Ghanzi and was amazed to see child with night blindness. It was quite common because of lack of Vitamin A in the diet. (No carrots, pumpkins or sweet potatoes in the diet.) The retina has a characteristic appearance which I had never seen before.

Namibia is on my bucket list!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.