Repairs

This lovely old leather waistcoast belonged to dad, and before him to his dad. It is big on me, but I have been wearing it in the garden. Several of the seams have come apart, purely due to its age. It is about 100 years old, if my grandad wore it as a young man, or at least approaching that. It has 3 out of 4 buttons, but only 2 match each other and they don't look original to me. I am going to look through my many boxes of buttons, which are mostly a similar age, to see if I can find 4 matching buttons. I have been doing this sewing for a few evenings now as it is hard to sew. I don't recall ever seeing dad wear it, but he kept it because it was his dad's so I will do the same, but I will wear it too. Perfect allotment attire over my fleece.

A later work day as I washed my hair this morning. Put on some make up. Changed my earrings and put on a dress. Only to cover it all up with a big jumper, scarf, and blanket once I was at my desk!! The person in my office (Jon) didn't even notice how much effort I had made....so I'm not sure why I bother :-)

Worked until 5, but that is because I am not in tomorrow.

A bit of TV now I've finished that mending, and then my day off to look forward to!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.