carliewired

By carliewired

Almost Dark

It was a cold walk
over the grey river and
then a quick drive home!

~ carliewired

I didn't get out for my photos until after 4 PM and we were already losing the light. It has been dismal and chill all day with light snow flurries at dark. We got a high of 3 C today but are promised warmer daytime highs for the coming week. 

I drove to a location where Highway 5 crosses the South Thompson River. Some years ago, on a summer morning, I'd walked to the same spot on the bridge. As I was taking my photo, the bridge shook and a loud clatter erupted right behind me. A pickup pulling a boat trailer had become unhitched. Luckily the safety chain held, but the boat on the trailer chattered along the bridge railing where I was standing. Traffic on this highway travels at 90 km/hr so it all happened very fast. The boat and trailer came to rest beside me. Had there not been a railing behind me, I would not have survived the experience. I was remembering the impact today.

On the route home I encountered a Canadian Pacific Railway engine shunting across Lorne Street. In my 45+ years in this city, this was the first time I had encountered a engine outside the yard downtown. I was really surprised. I had to stop for it to cross so I took advantage of the opportunity for a photo. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.