carliewired

By carliewired

Duck Parking

Take one empty lot.
Socially distance all pairs.
Await all handouts. 

~ carliewired

It was a much improved day for weather. There was just a small dusting of snow overnight. Small amounts of sunshine today began just at noon. I was sewing yet another face mask when my machine was suddenly bathed in light. We have a high of 4 C and a low of -2 C overnight. 

I chose McArthur Island as my location this afternoon. I looked for the free parking lot on the far east side. The resident ducks had arrived first and were nestled into spots in the lot. It really looked like a duck parking lot. I am guessing that the pavement is warmer or attracts more heat on a day like this. They seemed to be evenly spaced and hunkered down. Of course, as soon as I opened the door and stepped out, they became a mob. Each stood up and waddled towards me, quacking to announce themselves. They must be used to handouts. I didn't want to disappoint them, but I quickly stepped up to the walkway and made my exit. 

It was really nice to get out in the fresh air. Many others were doing the same this afternoon. I enjoyed the views to the city and the Thompson River. Small stretches of blue sky were most enjoyable after the grim day we had yesterday. 

I picked up my kombucha and a take-out order of chicken souvlaki on the way home. I'm back in my recliner for the evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.