carliewired

By carliewired

Textures of Winter

Wizened seed pods, with
withered, brittle leaves...ice and
snow combine with cold

~ carliewired

The morning started with brilliant sunshine that filled my house with yellow and orange light. It didn't last long.......the dismal grey returned before I could get out with my camera. The forecast is cloudy until Tuesday. Perhaps some rain on Monday. Rather warm temperatures for January. A high of 11 C promised for Sunday. Is winter over or are there some surprises yet in store for us?

Today was a day for birthday packages. Two were delivered to the post office. One was delivered to a house. Getting in the driveway was not a problem. Getting out of the driveway was a bit of fuss. Ice and snow on an incline caused me to spin and slide. It took a couple of tries to get out onto the main road again. 

I continued out to Tranquille where there is a small viewing area for wildfowl. I didn't get out of the parking lot. I wandered the perimeter with my camera looking for signs of last year's growth in the snow. The world in small has always been interesting to me. 

Our Federal government has finally put some controls on incoming people arriving through airports. Starting tomorrow, those arriving will be tested at the airport and required to quarantine for 3 days at their cost which has been suggested is $2000. If they are positive, there will be a further quarantine of 14 days at their cost as well. All will be monitored. Our Prime Minister has also arranged to have all sun flights to Mexico and the Caribbean cancelled until April 30th. It seems too little and too late to me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.