curns' corner

By curns

Paella

Inevitably, trying to photo journal my life when I am not leaving the house very much is a strange exercise.  Last week it seemed like object week: plate, chair, napkin.

Looking back on the photos I’ve taken a good few of food.  We have eaten quite well in last year: we’re in the house and can take a little more time so we have had no ready meals since last March.  We’ve only had a few takeaways and then, generally, as a way of supporting a local restaurant that has been unable to open. And, of course, we have the weekly planned shop.

Food has become a very important part of our daily routine: less a fuel to get us through a hungry moment and more something where the entire ritual - from shopping to washing up - is an experience. And, as result I have a several entries based around food: bread sauce, cake, donuts (admittedly, not prepared), Genoa cake and lamb. On my Instagram feed there are mince pies. And a washing-up bowl.

But I am surprised that I do not havemore pictures of paella. We had a paella pan that, before last year, has been used a few times. In the last twelve months it has been used many more times. It’s always delicious. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.