Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 9

Hubs and I had just settled in to eat breakfast when I happened to glance out the window and spotted a Common Redpoll.  Quick as a flash, I was out of my seat, camera in hand, determined to get a record of this very rare visitor.  I would have loved to have gotten her on a nice perch, but this is what I got and it is going to have to suffice.  Common redpolls usually stay in Canada and further north except in rare winters like this one where the food sources are scarce which drives an "irruption" of winter finches south.  There have been scattered reports of redpolls being seen in various parts of the county, mostly in coniferous forests and higher elevations.  So, it was a surprise to have three at my feeders today.  Sadly, they were gone in under 10 minutes and I've not seen them since.  First redpolls we have in the yard in about 8 years.

If I am lucky enough this winter to get a second visit and a better shot, I will tag it for my yard list, but for now, this one is going on the visual record list.  

I had a nice long chat with my friend who lives a few miles from here on the farm - lovely to catch up with her and we are planning to get together over the weekend for virtual cocktails with our husbands.  

This afternoon I'm headed out to get my annual women's wellness exam - be nice to get that out of the way.  Next up will be a mammogram.  

Had a dusting of snow this morning - about an inch which was enough to cover all the sunflower seed shells that are scattered everywhere from the birds.  Everything looks pristine and clean again.  Not for long.  

Stay safe, people.  And if you have chocolate, you know what to do.  (and if you're not into chocolate, feel free to substitute the treat of your choice.)

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.