SPOTLIGHT ON STEVE

Back on 20th September, Steve was a “newbie” learning the tips of the trade from Daniel but for sometime now he has been “on his own” and a fully-fledged delivery driver for Waitrose but when I saw him today, but couldn't see his face properly, I asked if a few months ago, he was learning the job and he confirmed he was.

We have been so pleased to have a Waitrose delivery every week and have got to know quite a few of the wonderful people who do this great job.  It has certainly saved us having to go out for our groceries each week and we have got to know them quite well.  The ones who deliver to us are always kind, courteous and caring, most of them asking how we are and at the same time doing a great PR job for Waitrose.

For some reason, I woke suddenly just before 7 o’clock and when I went downstairs, I could see that we had had a light covering of snow - not enough to make it look that pretty, but it looked very cold.  A few minutes later I had a text from our lovely next door neighbour, Mike, to say that the paths were like ice rinks and to take care if we were going out - how kind is that?  He also suggested that we might let our delivery driver know too, because our drive would be very slippery.  

As soon as Steve arrived, Mr. HCB shouted to him to be very careful on the drive, but he didn’t seem that bothered and in fact, walked down the drive carrying three crates with no trouble at all.

Most of the drivers are used to me taking photograph, in fact, a few weeks ago, one of them asked if my camera was broken, and when I looked at him quizzically, he said, “Well, you always take a photograph, and you haven’t taken one today!”

Steve has been the subject of my Blip before, so when he had delivered the crates and put them just outside our side door, I asked him to move over slightly so that the light wasn’t behind him so that I could get a good shot, and he was happy to oblige.  

So this is Super Steve, in the spotlight, and you can tell from his eyes, even though he is wearing a mask, that he is smiling.  I’m not even going to put this in as a Mono Monday shot and the reason for the dark green of the frame is that it’s the colour for Waitrose.  Strange to think that if a well-built man like Steve had come to my door a couple of years ago, wearing a mask, I would have felt quite frightened and would have been dialling 999!

So a big shout-out and thank you to all those who serve in the store, who “pick” the goods and especially those who make the deliveries on cold and frosty mornings.  You give us a warm fuzzy feeling and we are very grateful to all of you.  I feel an email coming on to tell the Store Manager how much we appreciated Steve today and all those at Waitrose who serve us in some way.  As I often say, we are often quick to criticise, but not half quick enough to praise, and a GOLD STAR is due to Steve today.

“Courteous treatment 
     will make a customer 
          a walking advertisement.” 
J. C. Penny

P.S.  I have just emailed Waitrose and asked the Store Manager to pass on our thanks to Steve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.