Back to editing the tulips

These have sat on my hard drive since I took them back in March and I’ve struggled to know what to do with them, it wasn’t until I started to think about a presentation on  photo projects for the camera club that I’ve really looked at them again.  At one point I thought maybe I should just delete them all, though following a conversation with a friend I decided to try again.  She suggested that maybe the fact that they were red was the problem and certainly changing to mono for most of them has meant that I could concentrate on structure and pattern.  A closer look has also helped me focus on the fact that a number of the original images were taken at the same angle, so I needed to look carefully and choose the one that revealed the structure best, sometimes it was ones with a bit more space around them that worked better than the close ups.  I’ve probably said this before, but one of my problems around photography is that I prioritise taking over selecting and editing and I accumulate this vast archive of not very good images.  I think this is partly to do with taking photos for Blipfoto and a lot to do with my priorities.  Over the years I think I’ve kept going because I actually like the diary aspect of Blipfoto  and to be able to look back.  And the people I’ve met through Blipfoto have been very important to me, even though I’m very remiss when it comes to adding comments on other peoples journals.  I joined Blipfoto at a time when the remit was to post a photo taken on that day and I’ve noticed that has slipped as a philosophy for many.  Well for me too at  this time, using Blipfoto to share my current thinking about my archive and editing choices has also been important and it’s still given me an opportunity to share my diary.

Diary:  Thursday is my shower morning, so thank you Jill for coming a bit early and getting me showered.  It’s always a pleasure talking to you.  Also for carrying down my laundry basket downstairs.  I managed to get it washed dried and aired and taken back upstairs by my evening carer.  I did some more photo editing, see above.  Managed to take some things upstairs to add to my still life set up but didn’t take any photos.  My main reason for going upstairs was to find another sock to cover my pot as I’d forgotten earlier.  Started to feel tired after lunch and I might even have had a short nap.  Went through my usual late afternoon/ early evening exhaustion phase and then had to hunt for my carer who had knocked and then disappeared.  I eventually found her and she got me upstairs quite early and carried things up for me.  Foolishly I’d left my shoulder bag upstairs when I went up in the morning.  And I settled in to watch iPlayer and felt a bit lonely.  Not something that’s been happening to me lately.  I’m ok this morning and apart from an extra trip to the loo I’ve slept ok.  (Harnessing my chariot in the middle of the night is not easy! Even though I don’t need to travel vey far.)

P.s I don’t think the bottom right image belongs to this set and I need to replace it with another. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.