24 Years.

M tells me I don't look any different - how disappointing! Woke up this morning very early when M left for work, so pottered downstairs to make a coffee and read a magazine... It's not often I have nothing to do in the mornings - bliss.

Mum and Dad arrived last night after a long drive from Yorkshire and when they got up, we had more coffee and I got to open my lovely presents - a box of gorgeous pjyamas from The White Company (Mum knows I love new pyjamas for Christmas morning!) and very exciting things for my kitchen: a blowtorch for creme brulees and a mini food processor for when I don't want to mess up my big Magimix for the sake of one onion or a handful of breadcrumbs. I love a good kitchen appliance!

M was only working until lunchtime and when he got back he gave me my present - a beautiful bracelet. Totally spoiled! Mum and Dad had also brought me a birthday cake up with them - baked by Mum and decorated with a glittery whale by Dad - and really yummy!

This afternoon, we decided to go to the cinema to see Life of Pi - really enjoyable with some incredible effects. We saw it in 2D because I always find 3D a bit gimmicky, but I can see that it might have worked with this film. I think M and Dad were a bit unmoved by it, but Mum and I enjoyed it. Perhaps it's something to do with having read the book.

When we got home, we had a really lovely beef-and-red-wine pie that Mum had made, with lots of additional red wine! We spent the evening watching TV and catching up in front of the fire. A perfect birthday with the most important people in my life :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.