Capital adventures

By marchmont

Cityscape

Brilliant night's sleep as I woke at 6.30.  Of course I didn't leap out of bed but once up it was out on my 'day out'.  Ended up walking almost all the way to Cameron Toll for a #8 bus to the Botanics.  I'd planned it based on the weather forecast which turned out, as forecast!  

Had a lovely walk round the gardens though there are far fewer snowdrops than in my garden.  Not a lot of flowers but plenty of birds, quite a few people and one squirrel being hand fed.  I treated myself to a coffee and a chocolate brownie before walking up to Canonmills for the bus home.  My great grandfather was born in Canonmills, but of course it would have been very different in 1857. 

I stopped off at the Starlight Chinese supermarket and got a couple of things before buying more daffodils to top up the vases. 

Today is the last day of Chinese New Year, chap goh meh in Hokkien.  I didn't toss any tangerines into  the water at the Botanics, or anywhere else, but I made that well known Malaysian dish Chicken Rendang for dinner.

Then a longer Zoom meeting than I'd anticipated, a quick dash to Margiotta for a thank you card and back in time for Wine o'Clock.  However, an unexpected call meant I was late to the party.  I still own the quiz though.

Lit my CNY lights for the last time, including a candle in my lantern to mark the lantern festival. But I bailed early, only one episode of 'Dix Pour Cent' tonight then bed. 

F2F - 4
Phone calls - 1
Virtual - 2
Recovery day 35

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.