carliewired

By carliewired

The West Side

A well-used park with
sunshine, warm temperatures and
blue sky for the win!

~ carliewired

I went for a short walk on the west side of McArthur Island to enjoy the warming weather. I started off down the path behind three senior ladies but I simply could not keep up to them. I hobbled off onto a gravel path that winds around some of the soccer fields. 

I discovered for myself the location of the disc golf course on the island. It is currently one of two courses within the city. It boasts tournaments when conditions allow. I watched a couple who arrived with two frisbees toss them into the odd white basket propped up in the ground. I have no idea how this would be played. Since I can't throw a frisbee to save my life, I probably won't ever find out. 

My walk took me past the soccer fields on the west. They have been taken over by Canada geese. They became a little upset when I came up to the fence for a photo. Some took off into the air with a great deal of racket. Some stood stalwart, as if daring me to come any closer. 

I stopped briefly by the location of the lynx siting. Today there were some folks with cameras and stools in the lookout platform as if waiting for the lynx to show up. The ducks' hot tub was not well used today. Perhaps the word is out that a predator lurks or perhaps the river looked more inviting. My last shot was of the lonely eagle perched in a cottonwood above the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.