Weekend!

Mine, not yours… sorry. 

In some ways it was a different day, and in others it was desperately routine.  

One difference is I slept like a baby for 8 hours, and woke up feeling relaxed and refreshed. It did leave me with a sense of being disorientated, but in a positive way. 

I suspect the acupuncture is the cause. Since my first session I have had only one night of broken sleep out of 8. In the period prior to that session, the figures were the other way around. My shoulder - the reason for the acupuncture - feels a bit better too. 

One of my regular errands (which gives me an essential reason to leave the house) takes me to Burntisland. It is a 20 minute drive to get there. Today I took the train. 9 minutes. OK, I had to wait a bit for the train back, but what else is there to do with my leisure time?

I used the time to walk around the town a little, into corners not explored when the routine is car park to shop, and then back. I watched two seals in the harbour for a while. One was fishing, quite successfully. I assume two fish in 10 minutes is a good result for a seal. The other just looked at me. 

I was reminded that Burntisland hosted one end of the world’s first train/ferry service in 1840. Granton (in Edinburgh) was the other end. Then in 1850 it upgraded to the world’s first roll-on roll-off train ferry service. The opening of the Forth Rail Bridge in 1890 put an end to the ferry.  

The trains I was on were eerie - almost empty. On the other hand, they felt entirely safe. The absence of passengers also seems to help them to run on time. 

Well, I will take the train again sometime. I could even do a wee upgrade of my own and walk back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.