Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Reflecting...

I was looking back at my journal from last year at this time.  I was just getting over a nasty run with the flu and had enjoyed some time outside.  Little did I know that just a few short weeks later we would be headed into lockdown and that Covid was already gaining a lethal foothold in New Jersey.  It makes you realize how things can change so suddenly and in such big ways.  But here we are, a year later - a little battered and bruised but still standing.  And as more and more of the people I know are getting vaccinated, we are starting to contemplate spending unmasked time with friends soon.  Like Charlie, I'm looking forward...

My new Hide arrived yesterday and since today was warmish and sunny, I popped it up on the patio and spent some very enjoyable time inside.  Of course, it was one of those days where the birds weren't really cooperating, and the light was wickedly harsh - which is why you get Charlie instead of a bird.  But it was nice to be back in my hide after over a month.

You may recall that my old hide was getting pretty worn and the last big snow storm dealt it a fatal wound - something that all the duct tape and zip ties in the world weren't going to fix.  So, a few days ago I finally admitted defeat and ordered a new one from Amazon.  This time I got a Rhino brand and so far, it seems great.  It is almost identical to my old Ameristep but the fabric seems sturdier, and it was also a few $$ cheaper.  

I was hoping to be going to Costa Rica this May but it looks like the trip is going to have to be rescheduled.  Three of the five people who were going on the trip can't travel this soon, so our guy in CR is looking for new dates.  I am sure it will all work out.  Meanwhile, I am still planning to go to Columbia in October (rescheduled from last October).  All assuming, of course, that there are no more Covid-type surprises lurking.  

I went to the gym this morning and did my weigh workout.  I am pushing to get my strength back where it was last year - and my 65 year old body isn't happy.  However, getting my muscles back in shape will mean less aches and pains and better balance, so I'm motivated.  And I may start doing some cardio at the gym too.  I had a look at the cardio room today and they have the machines well spaced out so I think I'll feel safe as long as people keep their masks on.  

Tomorrow is going to be in the high 60's so I'm meeting up with a couple of friends for a walk in the morning.  And I think we've even found a trail that is more or less clear - I'm sure it will be muddy, but that's what hiking boots are for.  

Thanks for the kind words yesterday.  We enjoyed the "memorial" burgers - it was the same Burger King that Hubs used to take my FIL to after they'd go fishing.  

Stay safe, people.  Be kind, and remember that a little bit of chocolate is good for you...

xo
Debbi

About this image - Charlie was sitting in front of our storm door, looking out into the yard and I just liked the way the sun was rimming his fur and his face was reflected in the double pane glass.  Sometimes simple is good.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.