Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

In Memory...

Seven years ago today, my FIL passed away at the age of 87.  

He was a blue collar worker, the first generation in his family to be born in the United States.  By the time I met him, he was retired and kept himself busy with a myriad of projects around the house.  But one of his great loves was fishing.  My Hubs would pick him up and take him fishing on nice spring weekends, when the trout would be biting.  And, like many fishermen, he loved fly fishing.  

My husband has boxes of flies, all made by FIL.  One day we will find someone who loves fly fishing and gift them a bunch of hand made flies.  I particularly love this little gizmo that he made to help tie the flies.  It has a big magnifying glass and two movable arms with alligator clips to hold the hooks while painstakingly tying the flies.  It's ingenious, really.  I will put a full photo in Extra to give you a better idea of how it looks.  

One of the other things my FIL loved was Burger King.  So, Hubs and I are going to go get a burger today in his memory.  We'll sit in our car and reminisce while eating the "memorial burgers".  A fitting way to remember him.  And if you want to read a bit more about him and see a photo of him at our wedding, see my journal entry HERE

I'm also tagging this for TinyTuesday since it's tiny.  (Thanks Cathy1947  for hosting!)


Be safe, be kind, remember to tell the people in your life that you love them.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.