Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dressed for Travel

A snow day today - wet, heavy, steady but not accumulating all that much.  I think we will end up with 2-3 inches when all is done and then it will all freeze into a sheet of ice tonight and melt tomorrow (hopefully). I slept late today (since the last time I looked at the clock it was 4 am and I'd yet to fall asleep) and when I came downstairs, Hubs had managed to completely exhaust the dog and get a blazing fire going.  As for me, I've done very little today other than play with the dog and take pictures through the living room window.  A nice day, actually.

Hubs and I went to Burger King to have a burger in memory of his father who passed away 8 years ago on this day.  We took Jax with us and i think he thought he was going to get a Puppacino since we were in the drive-thru.  Poor guy - he got nothing.  So, to make it up to him, we went outside and played in the snow.  I had him on a 15 foot lead in the back yard but he wanted to run and there was no way I could hold him back so I let go the lead and he raced halfway across the back yard.  But as soon as I called him to come, he raced back to me.  So that felt good.  Hopefully if it is still light out when Hubs is done working, we can take him out back again and run off some of his energy.  He loves the snow, loves to run in it, loves to eat it, loves to chase snow balls.  

Today's shot is a white-throated sparrow who is in full breeding plumage and ready to start heading north to his/her breeding grounds.  He was waiting in the Christmas tree (I haven't hauled it back into the woods yet) and I quite liked his tall stance and the fresh snow all around.  Never mind that the needles on the tree are gone to yellow.  

Also had a nice long chat with bestie Peg today - it was good to catch up.  

Dark with dried cherries today (thanks, Mom and Dad, for the recent delivery!)

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.