Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Big and Colorful

I had a difficult time tracking the stars and hearts which were generously shared with me the last several days while I was away. I apologize for not thanking everyone individually. I appreciate each and every one of you.

Rivoli's hummingbirds (formerly known as Magnificent hummingbirds) are one of  Madera Canyon's big attractions for birders and photographers alike. They are the largest hummingbird to visit the U.S. and measure between 11-14 cm in length. I felt good about the amount of color I was able to capture. There's a little more blue on the base of the throat which I wasn't able to get.

It was check-out day but the sun finally came out and the wind gusts slowed to an almost tolerable speed so I hanged around there into the afternoon.  The decision to stay only three nights was a good one because of the wind.  Cold I can tolerate (two trips in January!) but the combination was too much. Next reservations are in April which should be getting closer to peak hummingbird migration.  The Black-chinned and Broad-billed are already back. The Anna's should be next followed by Blue-throated Mountain-gems,  Rufous and Broad-tailed.  If we're lucky, the Berylline will make another appearance this year along with the Calliope (the only one of the bunch I never photographed). 
There's another place I plan to visit this year to see two others: a Violet-crowned and Starthroat.  That's a whole lotta teeny birds. Zippy, a Costa's hummingbird, is already in my backyard and I think I saw an Anna's here, too.  Good times.

It felt good to get a proper shower when I got home. The mistake I made was to throw laundry in at the same time. Made for a much shorter shower.  I didn't do much of anything else other than unpack but I did get three loads of wash done. 

Hope you like this Rivoli's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.