Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ears

Nothing particularly special about this shot but there are so many blackbirds around at the moment that I thought I'd post  a visual record.  This is a male red-winged blackbird and he has a distinctive yellow marking that kind of looks like an ear on his left cheek (just visible here).  Should make him easy to recognize.  Every spring for the last 4 years, I've had a group of about 10 male blackbirds that come to our yard and sing.  It's kind of interesting because they nest in marshy areas, the closest one being about a quarter mile from here.  Normally, I'd expect them to be singing at the marsh but I'm happy to have them singing here.  They will be around through the breeding season, joined later by females and fledglings.  It's not usually visible, but you can see the bluish sheen to his feathers here.

I have been on a cleaning binge today - vacuuming, sweeping, etc.  I don't like cleaning (and to be honest, I'm not very good at it) but I was feeling very restless today.  I also spent way more time than I wanted trying to get my new iphone authenticated.  Everything works...except the actual phone!  I can call out but can't get incoming calls - very irritating.  I am dreading getting on the phone with Verizon as I know that will be a long, irritating experience.  But, eventually I will have to bite the bullet and do it.  

The chipmunk I call Stumpy showed up today when I was outside.  He is a battle scarred male who lost about half of his tail, most likely in an altercation with another chippie.  Anyway, he was zipping around the patio hoovering up seeds.  And, at one point, he ran over to see if I had peanuts.  See Extra. His testicles are showing which means that he is ready to breed - all he needs is a willing female.  Once the spring breeding season is done, the male's testes retract and can't be seen.  A little chippie anatomy lesson that you could probably have done without.  

One year ago...I was still battling the flu, MIL's facility had gone into lockdown and the stores were totally out of cleaning supplies and toilet paper. Although we didn't know it, we were just a week from a total shutdown in the State.  Last year's blip HERE.  One of the many things I like about Blip is being able to go back in time.

Stay safe - we're not out of the woods yet. Be kind.  And today I am recommending Girl Scout Thin Mints (dark chocolate and mint).

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.