Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blowin' in the Wind

Yes, and how many years must a mountain exist
Before it is washed to the sea?
And how many years can some people exist
Before they're allowed to be free?
Yes, and how many times can a man turn his head
And pretend that he just doesn't see?

The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
The answer is blowin' in the wind  - Bob Dylan, 1963

It is so windy outside that the birds are having a hard time maintaining their perches, and this photographer was having a hard time holding a lens steady.  So, it was out and right back in as soon as I'd gotten a couple of chickadee shots.  You can see this one's little feathers ruffling in the wind, and the way its little body is braced against the gusts.  
The song reference ... well, I happen  to like that song.  Not unlike American Pie, it's a song that is open to a lot of interpretation.  But Dylan said he wrote it about the frustration of black Americans at the time; it went on to become an anthem of sorts for the Civil Rights movement in the 60's.  When I read the lyrics today, it makes me sad to think that we have not made all that much progress when it comes to Civil rights.  Yes, certainly some things are better, but people of color are still the targets of racism; and communities of color are still largely invisible to many people born into white privilege. We need to be better.

So, I am now waiting for a replacement for the "new" phone I got from Verizon.  Yes, after spending an hour on the phone with tech support (a really nice man who was endlessly helpful and patient) it was determined that the phone has some sort of malfunction.  So a new phone is being shipped out along with a prepaid package to return the "old" one.  And then, because the day hadn't been frustrating enough, when I reactivated my old iPhone SE - it would not accept incoming calls or texts.  It did everything else, but not the very thing it is supposed to do.  So, I spent some time online with tech support again today and they got it sorted.  New reconditioned iPhone X will be here Wednesday so I am bracing myself.  

Had a nice long chat with my parents this morning.  They are a week away from getting vax #2 and it is hard to say who is happier about that - them or me.  Probably a tie.  They have missed being able to see friends in the last year but haven't wanted to take any unnecessary risks - not to mention that their friends are also in the most vulnerable age group.  We will all feel so much better when they have the second jab plus 2 weeks.  

Last year on this date I put an image of a bare grocery store aisle in Extra.  At that time, things were still open but the Covid-train was moving at top speed straight towards us.
Stay safe, people.  Be kind, be loving, eat chocolate (in moderation, of course).

xo
Debbi

PS:  the white in the background of this shot is the remains of the snow in our back yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.