A delicate landing!

I'm a lucky lad! I've been wanting a 2x teleconverter for my 300mm Olympus telephoto lens, and there was quite a good discount available at last weekend's virtual Photography Show (held in place of the usual "real" show). And I had some money from my Dad for last year's birthday "burning a hole in my pocket" so I couldn't resist.

I wanted to try it out today so this morning my Editor and I had a walk to the Rising Sun Country Park where I was able to grab these shots of some very distant gulls. I've presented them as a diptych as I love the expression on the face of the gull on the right of the photo, just after the other one landed very delicately beside it!

Needless to say I'm delighted with the lens combination. These shots are cropped by about half; this 600mm lens combination on the Olympus Micro 4/3 system is equivalent to 1200mm on a full-frame sensor camera which gives an idea of how far away the birds were.

The converter will also work with my 40-150mm zoom lens, but that will have to wait until another day to be tried out.

With some help from Skype all 3 of our sons "saw" their Mum for a Mothering Sunday chat so we had a lovely afternoon (needless to say I joined in too).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.