Capital adventures

By marchmont

LD day 366

I love a sunset. The only house I have lived in with stunning sunsets was La Genevriere in Montgaillard, Tarn et Garonne. The deck faced due west, over the valley of Le Camuson to the gentle hills of the Gers and beyond them Lectoure. I could stand there and track the path of the sun throughout the year. Setting in winter around 6 to my left over the Pyrenees 200 kms away to the SW and only visible in the right weather conditions. In mid summer NW to my right around 10 over the mighty Garonne and Agen. Here in the urban not the rural sunsets are visible at the equilux/equinox due west over fences and trees and in mid June, from upstairs when the sun disappears in NNW at nearly midnight and comes back a very few hours later in NNW. A sense of time, a sense of space, a sense of place.

If you read my blip yesterday you'll know that today marks the v start of my Yr 2 of Covid restrictions/lockdowns. We had a day's reprieve as the pools remained open but Malaysia shut its borders to non Malaysians with very few exceptions and they remain closed with the country in a state of emergency till end August. They have only just started vaccinating so who knows when I'll get back to lie by that pool.

Back in sunny Embra where a temperature of 19 deg made us the hottest place in the UK the highlight of the day was the call from the Hermitage about mum's 2nd dose on 27.3, very early in the morning. J & D got their first, Pfizer, dose in France today. Their 2nd ones are 15.4, before me. I read today that there was a time Scotland had 140 cases per 100000 with no lockdown. That was the 2018 flu outbreak.

Meanwhile I missed the sun and apart for a 20 minute break at lunchtime worked at the table for 9 hrs inputting data into a clunky database relieved by a video meeting. I had the door open to hear the birds and watch Willow sunbathing in the garden table. Then after a 30 minute break and some erratic food an hour with W. It was good to sit down for another episode of 'Soupcon/Torn'.

More Amazon packages arrived today, for the garden. The nice delivery driver moved a very heavy one to the garage door for me. That's the weekend sorted.

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 2
Recovery day 55

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.