An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Making a splash...

Not quite so sunny today so made a start on my friend Ann's Chookie Birdie painting (don't worry H, yours is next :-)

Ann is an amazing woman.  One of the cleverest and funniest women I know.  She is a teacher in a very demanding school, with very challenging pupils and they adore her.  She's also currently in hospital waiting for an organ transplant, but of course that can only happen when a donor organ becomes available, so there may be a long wait.  The good news received today is they can operate to help her currently failing organ and all being well, she should get home from hospital in a week or so.

Having liaised with her daughter and another friend over what should be included in the painting, I made my initial sketch of the scene this morning and shared it with them this afternoon.  If I tell you that Ann also has a very wicked, dry and at times, slightly shocking sense of humour, it won't surprise you that their reaction was a mix of OMG! (in a good way) and hysterical laughter, so I think I am on the right track.  Looking forward to drawing it properly tomorrow and hopefully getting some paint on it too.

This afternoon I continued with my current crochet project.  I am really enjoying it.  It's almost finished and I am working on the border.  I bought two lots of this wool and I am really pleased I did as I think I will use it to make a different style of blanket.

Alan had a pool session this afternoon and the amount of raucous laughter I could hear coming from him made me go and see what was happening.  Just the usual fun and nonsense but with extra splashing.  I think he has embraced the joys of spring too!  David says Alan just floated quietly for the last 15 mins.  I'm not surprised!  

I mentioned yesterday that we are having a garden clear out meaning lots of spaces to fill.  This will be a long term project but in the meantime, I am happy for the gardeners among you to offer any suggestions for planting in an open flower bed that gets good sun, a border that gets afternoon sun, a border that is north facing and in the shade, and a south facing border that's in a bit of a sun trap. 

We are trying to ensure the garden has some colour for most of the year (just now the highlights are April & May as the heather, rhoddies and azaleas are in bloom then but it's fairly dull the rest of the year)  Flowers are also sadly lacking so we will be planting loads of spring bulbs but suggestions welcome there too.

Thanks in advance :D. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.