Jon to the rescue

Wasn't it horrible getting up so early? Jon took his motorbike to a chap in Holt who works out of a unit on an estate in Bayfield, and I followed in the car. We got there for 8am. Unfortunately the bike man didn't and we almost gave up waiting at 8.40, but then passed him as we went to leave. The bike just needs a service as Jon uses it so much. I was really pleased to see 2 beautiful hares hopping across the field. It made the early trip worthwhile.

So we didn't start work until 9.15. It wasn't cold so we didn't bother starting a fire. It was the first day I haven't smelt smoky for a few weeks! The work day didn't go that smoothly, with connection issues. At 1pm Jon and I took a nice walk around the block, picking up the eggs on the way. It was a really lovely day. Our allotment looked sad, and all I can see is a lot of work. Tomorrow evening we will try to get down there.

Mum did some washing today, and initially the machine wouldn't fill. Jon found the water tap was turned off. Possibly because he had fitted a new outside tap last year, and also new pipes to the machine. When empty we thought it best to turn it off. So it was easily fixed, and he turned the tap on.

When he was out collecting his bike later on, I heard mum shouting to Jon from the back garden. I dashed in to find out what the problem was. The washing machine, on emptying, was leaking onto the kitchen floor. Mum had already turned the machine off. All I could do was grab some rags from my garage to soak up the water. Jon got back about 30 minutes later. The final fix had to wait until after work.

We worked until 5, with the summer house door wide open, it was so lovely. I could quite easily have just sat in the sun. Hopefully tomorrow will be a more productive work day!

We made a cup of tea and took it next door, then Jon tackled the flood, where he found the traps for the waste water completely solid with gunk and scale. Once cleaned we put the machine back on. It has just dawned on me, that I haven't been back to check it.

After dinner we watched the quiz programmes. Those people on Only Connect have amazing minds. I've got a headache, so I think i'll get an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.