Manda's garden room

This morning seems like a very long time ago, as I now come to write this account at gone 10.20pm. I know I woke up but promptly fell asleep again, and when I did eventually wake up, my tea was cold. Jon always brings me a cup of tea in bed. But even with the radio blaring I have felt extra tired this week. I can only assume it is the clock changing.

Anyway I did get up, showered and washed my hair, getting it dried before our electricity was turned off. Henry's job for the day - fitting a new fuse box. He was hard at work by the time I left for Lidl at 8.30. Still going hard at it when I returned at 10. After coffee with mum, as she had a working kettle, I loaded up the mini with all of her bags, and all of mine. There wasn't an inch to spare. I never travel light, even just for a day trip! We headed off at 12, stopping at Tesco in Swaffham for an hour browsing, and eating a sandwich. I bought a pretty green flowery blouse, and mum bought herself a plain white one and some summery trousers. Very spur of the minute for me, but it caught my eye immediately, so I thought why not!

We got back to Hoddesdon at 4 and unpacked. Mum checked her mail and her voice messages. At 6 we went over and saw Manda. She proudly took me on a tour of her garden. She is having a lot of work done, and has a lovely new patio area and shed, and will soon have an amazing garden room. It is being built by builders so not like our summer house, but has proper electrics and insulation etc. It will be very nice. She is even having a tv in it!! So no wood burner, or holes in the roof for a chimney!! I'm looking forward to being allowed to meet up properly when it is done - I wonder who will claim it first!

We had dinner and chatted and looked up more family history stuff. I'm annoyed with the changes to some of the family history websites I used to use. Familysearch.com has really changed and I don't like it. I might be able to do a bit more research while I am at mums this weekend. Dad had everything logged, but in a kind of 'dad' order. Another area where we had similarities. I'm at least as tidy as dad was, but that isn't saying much!

I'm working tomorrow so must finish this now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.