carliewired

By carliewired

Wind in the Willows

That whistling sound through
the trees reminded me of
a favourite book

~ carliewired

I woke up too early in the dark. I sat drinking coffee at 5 AM....still in the dark. By 6 I could see that we had received that cursed snow that we'd been promised in the forecast. Dang! I hate it when that smarmy weatherman gets it right!! 

I decided at 6:30 that more sleep was in order. I rolled out of bed just after 8, a much more civilised time for rising. Yes. There was a dusting of snow on the deck but it was disappearing fast. My mountains were frosted white. I had hopes that would end soon, as well. 

I was off to MacArthur Island by 10 and very happy to see some sunshine working its way into the day. The city is still working on the drive on the north side of island, so that portion is largely out of bounds. The curling centre had a line-up for covid vaccinations so, I steered clear of that area. A little group of daycare kids were lined up to file down onto the beach with their provisions. I hadn't realized how many willows were in this park. They were all swaying in the wind like hula dancers. 

I walked past the skateboard park. No one was there today on a school day. It was a good opportunity to walk through it. I had to marvel at how much cement went into its construction. I noticed the tribute to a local skater, Kierra Davies, who had passed away last year at age 20. She was quite an encourager for girl skaters. 

As I was walking back to my vehicle on the Rivers Trail, a group of high schoolers arrived on their lunch hour. Several were scrambling around one of the big willows attempting to put a hammock on its branches. They were having a rather loud discussion about how to tie it to the tree. An older man walked by and made a disgruntled comment under his breath that they should tie it around their necks. It really made me laugh. I love sarcasm. 

I hung my quilted heart on the branch of a small pine beside the trail. I took a quick shot of the sparkling river and its Canada geese friends. Time for lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.