Clearing

A morning with sun
is a jewel in my day!
I can't ask for more. 

~ carliewired

I slept in until 6:30. I must admit I stayed up late to watch "Traces" on my Britbox TV channel. (I get this through my Amazon Prime subscription as I have no television.) I had no idea that this morning was going to be so lovely but when I saw it clearing around my mountains this morning I knew I had to get out there. When I left the house just after 7 it was cloudy and 14 C. 

My daughter needed groceries this morning, so I completed that task right away. I stopped to collect my breakfast and coffee before driving into McArthur Island. 

The sky was clear and bright blue in the west when I stepped out to walk across the foot bridge over the slough. I took a shot across the slough looking at my mountains. I see that trees are budding out now. I found a pair of mallards cruising along beside the bike path. In the slough, I found a pair of Northern Shovelers. The male is particularly attractive with an iridescent green head and rusty orange patches on the sides. The two were doing a circle dance with their heads in the water. I had to catch them when they surfaced. 

I drove on to the south side to look for marmots. I found only three. They were making the most of the green grass along the Rivers Trail. For the first time I noticed how big their feet are. As burrowers, they would need big feet. I left my quilted heart on a bench near their grazing spots. 

I was home by 9:30. The sun was pouring into my house. I'm in for the day now.

Our day will get cloudy with a few showers and the risk of a thunderstorm in the late afternoon. A high of 13 C is projected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.