Shuswap Road - East to West

One should never doubt
the weatherman - he knows what
he's talking about! 

At 6:30 I was out on my deck to catch the sunrise. It caught me by surprise because the forecast for today was not a pleasant one. I really thought the weatherman had lost his marbles when I saw the clear, bright sky. It was 1 C and very calm. I made my coffee and sat back in my recliner. I was going to take my time and enjoy this lovely morning. 

By the time I was ready to head out the door, the sky had changed to some cloud. I drove off heading east. I had a thought I'd take the Trans-Canada highway  to the first river crossing to the Shuswap Road. I stopped on the bridge and got a shot to the west catching the weather system coming in behind my mountains. I don't often get to see Mt. Peter and Mt. Paul from this angle. 

I stopped several times on Shuswap Road. The first stop was to catch the fishers along the river. The first, an eagle, required my telephoto to max out. It was watching the creek below that flowed into the river. At the same time I noticed another fisher standing on the river's edge with his hands in his pockets. 

I stopped for a closer look at the backside of my mountains. Shuswap Road is in terrible condition. The road damage after winter has far exceeded potholes and gone on to moon craters. The willow trees offer the best colour right now. I'm always amused by the sign warning of a man on a tractor. The sign would be better warning of all the racing car drivers practicing on this road! I found some beautiful horses in pastures. I was delighted to find a Mountain bluebird atop a nesting box. I took this rather poor photo through the front window of my truck. I knew if I opened my door and popped out the bird would fly away. 

My last stop on the road was for a shot of the late, great Wanda-Sue, a replica paddlewheeler docked along the South Thompson River. I've had many pleasant rides on this boat in years gone by. 

I arrived back home just before 10:30, driving in wet snow as I crossed the Halston Bridge. My back yard was a little snowy. I stepped out on the deck to take a photo of my mountains to note the change from sunrise. 

It's almost noon now. The storm has moved off to the east and the sun is trying to shine. What crazy weather! 

I'm home with my sewing machine today making crumb pieces and listening to the radio.

The forecast offers a high of 7 C and a risk of showers with a thunderstorm in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.