carliewired

By carliewired

Another Find!

It's a little damp
and gritty but a lovely
encouragement now

~ carliewired

I parked at Pioneer Park this morning. My first surprise was finding a painting on a panel propped up under a pine tree just beside the parking lot. I have taken it home and carefully brushed off the sand/dust it has accumulated. I was here within the past week and it wasn't here then. It contains messages to encourage one to make art. 

The Kamloops Heritage Railway makes its home on the west side of the Red Bridge beside Pioneer Park. The society is the owner and caretaker of the fabulous steam engine, the 2141, and all its associated railway paraphernalia. My favourite in the outdoor collection is the caboose. It's something we rarely see on the railway lines these days.Today, I had a brief chat with two young fellows who were there as volunteers to make improvements on a railcar. I found it most encouraging that these two were just as keen about the heritage railway as I am. 

I walked as far as the railway bridge where the usual culprits were hanging out (or rather, perched). Canada geese seem to really like the bridge. There were also a few American coots in the river below the bridge. I didn't realize what big feet they have in relationship to the size of their bodies. Some juvenile juncos were scrounging around last year's leaf litter in search of food. They rattled the dry leaves as they hopped about. I released my quilted heart nearby on a tree branch. 

Apologies for the crammed version of a collage. My paid collage maker would not function today no matter how hard I tried. I was reduced to using a free maker just to get the job done. 

Our weather is chilly and unstable. We've been warned of snow coming to the higher elevations overnight. I could do without it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.