Buzzin'!

Like yesterday, today seemed to be spent mostly on household tasks again. I did go out for a walk along the cycle path by the river this afternoon though, to look for a Blip, get more Fitbit steps and listen to music on my phone. I saw a few butterflies, a robin and this bee having a rest on a leaf.

Whilst cooking tea I received a call from my Mum's nursing home to say that she had trapped her fingers in the toilet door this afternoon when she put her hand on the door-frame just as one of the members of staff taking her to the loo closed the door. No real harm done other than a little graze, but they have to report every incident to family. The nurse had called my Dad too but was not sure how much he'd understood, being deaf, so called me too.

No sooner had that call ended than my Dad rang to see if they had called me. I said they had. He then proceeded to tell me that yesterday he went over to Horncastle to visit my Uncle and on the way home some dogs had shot out of a farm-track into the road and he'd hit one of them. His car was damaged and - worse - the dog was badly injured. He could not find the owners. Another driver stopped and took his details to pass onto them since she knew them.

Today he said he had been on the phone to the car people most of the day sorting out insurance, potential repairs etc. The dog owners did not contact him so he drove back there, in the damaged car to find them. They have been understanding - as they should be since their dogs should not have been running loose by the road - and the dog is in the veterinary hospital. 

My Dad is fine fortunately - it could have been a whole lot worse! It shook him up of course, especially being a dog lover himself.

I'll be going over to see him tomorrow. Hopefully there will be no more drama!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.