The other way around

So today, the bread gets central billing, and the flowers have to appear in the extra. That’s corydalis kingfisher, one of the new plants for this year, and the first to flower. It seems quite happy in the big pot that only gets morning sunshine, but is protected from the prevailing wind.

I added a bit more to the balcony garden today, by picking up a new trough from Anything and Everything, into which I transplanted three plants that were not doing too well where they were, in particular the thymus, which did reasonably well in the stone trough with a saxifraga and a heather last year, but seems this year to be likely to be being frozen out. I’m out of compost now, so will have to pick some more up in the supermarket if they are still selling it. It’s a circular thing: have compost, want plants, get planters, plant out plants, use compost, need more... We’ve been through periods of having an absolute jungle on the balcony, and I don’t want to go there again, but it is a sort of slippery slope. I picked up the new planter on the way back from a walk up to Real Foods, for some bits and pieces, which led me back to Great Junction Street, to make a nice circular walk.

Meanwhile, the bread was excellent. We had some for breakfast, and I had a bit more for lunch. I’m surprised how easy it was, but then I had a good teacher.

Nothing of amazing interest work wise during the day, although I had a nice meeting with a former PhD student, who is now about to embark upon his second professorial appointment. They grow up, you know.

And after dinner, we watched a Storyville documentary, Cold Case Hammarskjold, which had quite a strange framing and really didn’t resolve anything about this mystery *which started on the day I was born*. But it was decent TV, and the sense of being reasonably interesting visual wallpaper for a couple of hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.