ACER POND NATURE RESERVE

Neil had a day off today so I arranged to meet him near his house to go for a walk.  As soon as I got to my bus stop to catch a bus to Neils I realised I wasn't dressed warmly enough.  It was really sunny - but it was cold.  No time to nip back home and put on something warmer.  So when Neil met me  I asked if I could borrow a sweater or similar.  So we went back to his flat and he found me something suitable.  He also changed his own coat to a warmer one --- and we set off at last.

I had decided we should  have a wander to Acer Pond  - a small local nature reserve. I had looked on the council website and it mentioned that you were likely to see all kinds of birds there such as swans, mallards, little grebe, ducks, coots -- and more. And on the local Facebook page I had seen a recent photo posted of a heron - so I was expecting great things. But what a disappointment.  The pond was completley empty --- nothing.  Nothing lurking in the reeds round the outside either as far as I could see.  The place was so quiet.  Not so much as a sparrow showed its face.   I thought I must have picked a bad day but when I mentioned it on my Facebook page later my cousin who lives locally said he had been a couple of times recently and seen nothing. Never mind I still had a lovely walk with Neil.

My blip shows Neil beside the pond.  Its my Wide Wednesday entry - today is " In the Centre ".  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Musical link - Little Fish in a big  POND - by Hal Derwin

Neil wanted a few things in Aldi so we made our way there and I did a bit of shopping too before getting the bus home.

The bus  started off  fairly empty  -  until it got to the two bus stops near the local comprehensive school. The bus driver just allowed pupil after pupil to pile on the bus until every seat was full.  I had a lad sit next to me which I wasn't too happy about.  I mean Im not even allowed to be so close to my family ( except Neil ) never mind a complete stranger.  He was wearing a mask thankfully.  Hower some of the children weren't.  And a lot of those that were were had their  masks too low and they weren't covering their noses. .  I was not very pleased.  I may write to the bus company asking what their policy is.  Since last March they have been limiting the numbers on buses -   keeping alternate seats free - and the seat next to you was supposed to be kept free.  I would like to know if this policy has changed.  I know those children need to get home from school but this pandemic isn't over and if the other passengers on the buses are being really careful in general with social distancing its crazy to end up sitting on a jam packed bus.

This evening I watched The Great British Menu and The Great British Sewing Bee as well as a couple of old episodes of the black comedy series Inside Number 9


Steps today - 12,146


CORONA CLASSIC -The Sycamore - Scott Joplin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.