The Central Exchange, Newcastle

Desided to go to Newcastle today in search of a shot for todays Wide Wednesday challenge. The theme is " architecture" and Newcastle has an abundance of lovely old buildings to choose from.  My blip shot is a view of The Central Exchange on the corner of Grey Street. Its a triangular building built by Richard Grainger as part of the redevelopment of Newcastle city centre. The building was completed c1838 initially intended to be a corn exchange, but soon became a subscription news room.   In 1870 the Institution for Promoting the Fine Arts converted the news room into an art gallery, concert hall and theatre. The interior of the building was badly damaged by fires in 1867 and 1901. Much of the interior was replaced by the Central Arcade which opened in 1906. The building on the corner in my photo was a branch of Carluccios ( restaurant chain) until last year but unfortunately it did not survive lockdown and is now closed.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting the challenge

Musical link -ARCHITECTURE  by Jonathan Thulin

As I had so much choice for my blip I decided to make a collage of the other buildings I took photos of today - Eldon Buildings, Theatre Royal, Emerson Chambers and Grey Street.

I wanted new trousers so headed for TJ Hughes. For the last few years I have gone there and bought 3 or 4 pairs of trousers at a time - always the same ones as I know they fit and wear well.  So today I just expected to get my usual supply without any trouble.  It wasn't to be.  They had none of those trousers.  I looked at every rail of trousers carefully - the ones I wanted were not to be found. None of the others were suitable so I will go to M & S another day and see what I can find there. I did some food shopping in Waitrose before coming home.  Weather was dry but rather dull and cold.

Usual Wednesday TV - Repair Shop,Great British Menu and Sewing Bee

Steps today - 6,6667

CORONA CLASSIC - Concerto grosso n. 5 - Charles Avison

Charles Avison ( 1770) was an English composer during the Baroque and Classical periods .He was born in Newcastle and was a church organist at St John The Baptist Church and at St. Nicholas's Church (later Newcastle Cathedral).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.