carliewired

By carliewired

The Long Sit

Too many hours in
the driver's seat with snacks and
music, heading west...

~ carliewired

A month of road construction created a longer drive home for me. The TransCanada Highway is closed just east of Golden, British Columbia. This added an extra 90 minutes to my trip today. 

I left Calgary in sunshine. The views of the Rocky Mountains were glorious this morning. I made a brief stop in Canmore and snatched a quick photo of my favourite Alberta mountains - The Three Sisters. Further down the highway I stopped to take a photo of Castle Mountain, near Banff, Alberta. 

Just past Banff, I took a left to travel Highway 93 to Radium Hot Springs, BC. It is a route through Kootenay National Park. I don't think I've travelled this route for at least 40 years, so I enjoyed a quick look at Radium Hot Springs. As I turned the corner onto Highway 95, there was a small herd of Big Horn Sheep grazing along the edge of the highway in the townsite. They paid little attention to the traffic going by them. 

Highway 95 between Radium and Golden, BC followed the Columbia River. There were many deer to be seen today. All were very intent on the grass growing in farmers' fields.

I turned back onto the Trans Canada Highway at Golden after topping up the tank. I made a brief stop at Craigellachie between Revelstoke and Salmon Arm. It is notable for the 'last spike', a location that tied all of Canada with the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1885. The cairn is dedicated with a rock from each of the provinces in Canada. 

My last stop was just a look out over the Shuswap Lake east of Salmon Arm. 

The weather co-operated all day with sunshine on the east side of the Rockies and cloud on the west side of the Rockies. 

The roads were bare and dry today. Traffic was light with the most obvious being the highway transport trucks. Many were carrying heavy loads like steel and lumber. So, I successfully dodged transports for 724 km/450 miles today. Rod Stewart and Josh Groban kept me company once the radio reception petered out just before the British Columbia border. I was very happy to get off that seat after a long day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.