carliewired

By carliewired

The Railway Bridge

Over a hundred
years of service, creaking and
groaning with the weight

~ carliewired

I was late getting out today. I needed a nap first (groan!). I had something to drop off in a friend's mailbox, so I stopped along the dyke in the Westmount area of our city. 

I timed it right to catch the westbound train heading out of the station and over the railway bridge on the North Thompson River. The Rivers Trail runs under it on the west bank. It's a place to hear the rumblings of the train on the tracks. I jogged under it to catch the second engine from another angle. 

Our trains are largely freight carriers these days. They keep industry alive delivering across this big nation and touching ports at either side. 

We can often judge the weight of the train by how many engines are included. When pulling up from the coast, the train can have four or more engines. On the way down to the coast, like this one, two engines will do. 

I see that the trees along the river have leafed out since I was away. The sandbars between the two bridges are now covered as the river level starts to come up. The ducks have lost their paradise islands but the Canada geese persist. The foundations of the railway bridge provide them a platform in the river. 

I've released heart #20 along this route. www.IFAQH.com
I'll see if it gets claimed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.