Valborg Day!!

Today is Valborg Day in Sweden!

I didn’t remember what that was but my Swedish blipfriends reminded me that it’s a celebration of spring and usually involves big public events with bonfires, music and singing (often choral) and plenty of champagne.

As for many events around the world, the normal large Valborg Day celebrations can’t really take place during the pandemic and so everyone will have had to find new ways to celebrate with their family or much smaller group.

Since I always like to join in, I decided to create my own Valborg celebration right here at home in England!  I made a fire in my firepit, enjoyed a couple of my Swedish chocolates with a glass of wine (no champagne in the house!) and found a Swedish Valborg playlist on the Swedish Spotify app!  I was even able to watch some Swedish Moose swimming!  (If you don’t know what THAT’S about, look at my blip from 2 days ago!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.