Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Score!

Introducing the 24th species in my 2021 visual record - the male Baltimore Oriole.  Inarguably one of our most vibrant summer birds.  I heard him yesterday but never saw him until late in the afternoon.  But this morning, he was busy eating from the orange halves I'd put out, taking breaks to sing his beautiful, rich whistled song from the treetops in between snacks.  Every spring I get my hopes up that a pair of orioles will nest in one of our trees at the edge of the woods - so far, it's never happened.  But I will allow myself to feel hopeful again this spring - why not?  See Extra for a classic oriole move with an orange.  

I also heard a hooded warbler singing in the woods today - I would have loved to get my lens on him but he was well hidden.  Maybe another day.

Had a great, long talk with mom and dad this morning.  I had a gift basket of nuts, dried fruit, and chocolate delivered yesterday which was met with approval all around.  I was able to customize the basket to got things that I know my mom likes.  Not as good as being there in person, but the best we can do right now.

In a few hours, bestie Ellen and I will be off to get our toes (and legs) done - the deluxe pedicure includes a spa treatment on the calves and feet which is really the whole reason to do it - bliss.  Then a simple dinner of salmon, farm fresh asparagus, salad and bread.  And wine.  Followed by chocolate.  

Tomorrow I am planning to get on the phone first thing and try to get some progress with appointments for various doctors.  I suspect my life is going to include a lot of medical visits for the next few months until I get the first round of treatment done.  So, deep breath...and jump in.

Keeping it short today.  Stay safe, be kind and maybe try some dark chocolate with fruit today.  And thanks for your continued support and love - I appreciate it more than I can say.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.