Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

You might need sunglasses!

The forecast was wrong in a big way today. I led a walk for 5 of us from the Haltwhistle Intermediate Group of walkers. It was from Wall Village again and on Fallowfield Fell and Hadrian's Wall Trail, with a slight detour from my last version.

The forecast said that it would be fine in the morning but the rain would start at lunchtime and increase in the afternoon. When we started there  were two ominous clouds overhead. After about half an hour, I noticed that they had gone and we had bright blue skies with white fluffy clouds all day.

This field of oil seed rape is coming on well and the air was heady with the perfume of the flowers.

We met a few people, but not many. Our group expects that Hadrian's Wall will be busy this summer as people look for places to holiday in the UK, but we are glad we know other lovely places to walk and avoid the crowds.

We had tea and cake in the garden. It was all delightful.

Tonight I called to see Brian and Margaret (across the road) with a piece of cake. (The carrot cake I made was enormous so I need to share it with whoever will eat it, to save me from myself!!) Brian is recovering well from surgery.

Then I took a piece to Margret (next door). She had also "caught the sun" and says the bluebells are at their best NOW. I need to try to go to see them asap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.